2012 Scholarship Award Winners Announced  

megan morris
The 2012 Fay Friedman Scholarship Award goes to Megan Morris from Richmond, KY. Megan has a passion for social work and for helping others overcome challenges. She has previously served as a volunteer for the Madison County Drug Court where she coordinated a recovery dynamics pilot program. Currently, Megan is pursuing a Master's in Social Work from the University of Kentucky. A former professor had this to say: "I believe Megan to be of strong moral character and believe she will make significant contributions to the field of social work upon completion of her master's degree."




amanda marshall

Additionally, one of our Joseph A. Toy Scholarships has been awarded to Amanda Marshall. She too has a passion for helping others and is currently pursuing a Master of Healthcare Administration degree at the University of Kentucky. Her desire to help is evident through her involvement with the Lexington Speech and Hearing Center, through her Delta Zeta Sorority, as well as the Lexington Humane Society and the Make-A-Wish Foundation. Amanda saw a huge increase in her personal responsibilities when her mother was deployed to Iraq. She quickly realized the importance of her own personal finances, focusing on school, and helping others. "Amanda is a member of a family with a strong tradition of military service, and she is determined to improve the health and wellbeing of military veterans, particularly those who have combat-related physical and mental health problems," said one of her former professors.



jenna skop
Another Joseph A. Toy Scholarship goes to Jenna Skop. Jenna is passionate about the power of government and its role in helping to better the lives of others. She is currently pursuing a Master of Public Administration degree from the University of Kentucky. "I have been very privileged in my life to receive a phenomenal education," Jenna says. "I just want to use the knowledge I have obtained to impact my community in some way." Jenna has already gained quality experience from entities such as the Seasongood Good Government Foundation as well as the Legislative Research Commission in Frankfort, KY.

Congratulations to all three scholarship winners!



1351 Newtown Pike
Lexington, KY 40511-1277
859.255.4866 (fax)


 twitter  fb